speculating.diaryland.com
8 K solid, baby!
2003-06-13 :: 9:24 a.m.

Walking quickly down the main street I headed towards my start line. Slightly nervous and tired, I felt a tension building in my heart. I took off my hoodie and tied it around my waist, crossed the set of lights and reached the crosswalk beginning.

Thump, thump, bob up, bob down, set the pace. Not even half a kilometer yet and I can feel my lungs constricting and my insides trembling with apprehension. Must push forward, complete the loop, you can do it. Perspire a few gallons, ignore the sharp pain in the knee, keep going.

Run past the house with the killer dog warily, further into the beautiful countryside. Fields of green splendor and clouds of dusty grey in the sky. Gravel bouncing under my feet and hair jumping up and down on my skull. Approach the turn off and persist, you must persist.

Reaching the 5 K mark, I pass a field of cows. They look at me curiously and moo while I run past. Past the carrion squirrel in the middle of the high way, 3 more gigantic hills, sweating buckets and tears of pain/joy running down my face. Back into to town I go and head towards the finish line. I did it, I really did it. This is my bliss.

Yeah, so I ran 8 K solid this morning. I thought for a while there that I wasn't going to make it, but a little nag in my mind wouldn't let me stop running. I definitely did feel the runners high when I crossed the set of lights at the 8 K mark after the loop. It was long, but well worth it. Before I know it, I will be able to run 10 K. Then comes increasing speed. I think I should be okay for my race on July 20th.

---

I have been feeling really anti-social lately. This is not abnormal for me, but I noticed that it's intensity is dramatically increasing. I guess that is because after the summer all of my friends will be leaving. I am pushing them away now so I don't have to suffer the loss then and grieve. I guess somehow in my mind distancing myself from people keeps me in a realm in which I cannot be touched with hot pokers of misery and despair. *sigh*

---

T.G.I.F.! I cannot believe it is already almost the weekend. That means only a few more days of school. What a frightening thought that is, eeps! It will be nice to be done, though. I am not looking forward to taking exams, but I will survive. Today is Friday the 13th as well. Hmm... I wonder what obscure events will happen today. My English teacher is absolutely paranoid about Friday the 13th because he says he always has bad experiences on that day. He says we can't hand in assignments today because of this fact. Jeepers creepers, man!

Friday Five:
1. What's one thing you've always wanted to do, but never have?
I guess that would have to be ride in a hot air balloon. I want to do it some day, but just haven't got the money/time right now.

2. When someone asks your opinion about a new haircut/outfit/etc, are you always honest?
Nah, I always say it looks good no matter what I think. I'd rather not hurt anyone's feelings. I think if a little white lie makes someone else feel good, then there is nothing wrong with it.

3. Have you ever found out something about a friend and then wished you hadn't? What happened?
I cannot think of anything in terms of a friend, but I can think of a couple things in my family. Let's just say I found out my Mom wears thongs and my brother had sex (yeah, try a letter with all the details which I picked up by accident and ran away screaming in sheer terror afterwards) before I did.

4. If you could live in any fictional world (from a book/movie/game/etc.) which would it be and why?
I would definitely pick the world of Alice from Alice in Wonderland. I have loved that book/movie since I was really little because of the crazy and exciting adventures that Alice got to partake in. I really would like to experience that because I think those are my type of people. ;)

5. What's one talent/skill you don't have but always wanted?
I always have wished I could do Maths/Sciences in school. For a long time I wanted to be an Endangered Animals Biologist, but realized after I got 53% in Grade 11 Biology that it wasn't going to happen. I like Math & Science, but it is just too much effort to barely scrape by.

Today's Affirmation: I do not need to agree with people when I do not. I am an individual who deserves to have and express my own thoughts.
Today's Quote: "Every day you may make progress. Every step may be fruitful. Yet there will stretch out before you an ever-lengthening, ever-ascending, ever-improving path. You know you will never get to the end of the journey. But this, so far from discouraging, only adds to the joy and glory of the climb." -Sir Winston Churchill (1874 - 1965)

||

navigation

me
1984. female. sometimes happy. sometimes sad. sometimes mad. always tired. no clue what she is doing with her life. currently working to save money. hates herself.

older entries
+ Ciao on 2004-07-28
+ Do you want quantity or quality, man? on 2004-04-27
+ New Name...? You like? on 2004-04-27
+ Mental m�lange on 2004-04-25
+ I Need A Hug on 2004-04-25