speculating.diaryland.com
I cannot cry
2003-06-04 :: 8:51 p.m.

I have this inability of allowing tears to fall from my eyes. Even when I feel the excruciatingly melancholic, I cannot cry. I thought I would shed some drops today because I was feeling fairly down, but nothing came out. It is so weird how I am able to bottle everything up the way that I do. I know that normal humans cry, so why cannot I? I have never allowed myself to let out the pain and grieve over my losses. Very strange, indeed.

And it is not that I do not want to cry because I definitely do. I just seem completely unable. I occasionally have a mad cry of fury, but never anything that seems lamentable. I guess it is in my nature, though, like my ineptitude in terms of affection. I cannot hug people without tensing up and withdrawing quickly and I have never had a "real" kiss before. Tis very pathetic indeed. Someday, though... *sigh*

The reason I wanted to shed buckets today was the admitting to myself that I want to give up with recovery. I am tired of this unfluctuating battle raging about in my mind. The demons are forever there and refuse to diffuse. I feel tolerably au fait now that the night is upon me. I have a minute speck of hope for the future, but in the back of my mind thoughts, such as this, continue.

---

When walking home for lunch today, I received a wonderful reaction from my next-door neighbour when I mentioned that I hope to be a writer. She seemed overjoyed and almost tearful. It was quite the surprising reaction, actually. To begin with it was odd that she was having a lengthy discussion with me since she and her husband seem to dislike my mom and step father (I think it's mutual on my parent's side as well). I am glad to know she still likes me because we used to be good friends. It was nice to catch up with her, anyways. I lent her my copy of The Life of Pi by Yann Martel. I told her to read it immediately.

It is so nice to have someone actually interested in decent literature. My mom reads a lot, but it is all mystery novels and the like. I do like a scintillating mystery every now and then, but I also enjoy heavy duty classics. My mom feels that "all classics are crap." She is completely unwilling to even try reading them. I guess it is her choice, though. I just wish she was not so judgmental of things she has never even tried.

This morning Lisa and I had a surprisingly good run. I managed to get her motivated up to four minutes running and a minute walking (she is still somewhat behind me in stamina, but she is really improving muchly). I think by the end of the month I will have her running solid. ;) I like this feeling of being a personal trainer.

Today's Affirmation: I am becoming my own best friend.
Today's Quote: "Hear me, my chiefs! I am tired. My heart is sick and sad. From where the sun now stands, I will fight no more forever." -Chief Joseph, on his surrender to Gen. Howard, October 5, 1877

||

navigation

me
1984. female. sometimes happy. sometimes sad. sometimes mad. always tired. no clue what she is doing with her life. currently working to save money. hates herself.

older entries
+ Ciao on 2004-07-28
+ Do you want quantity or quality, man? on 2004-04-27
+ New Name...? You like? on 2004-04-27
+ Mental m�lange on 2004-04-25
+ I Need A Hug on 2004-04-25