speculating.diaryland.com
Drive it up your ass, man!
2003-04-23 :: 6:57 p.m.

It is a scary, scary thing my friends. This morning my brother left early shrugging off nervous vibrations while chanting about headlights and hill parks. Yes, he was off to get his G1 (the first part of his license that allows him to drive with a G licensed driver with him). This is the simple test of knowledge (actually a test of whether or not you have your wits about you and possess a little common sense). The prospect of my brother inching closer to the polyester, grey seat behind the wheel of our green station wagon scares me titanically.

Yes, I would like the burden of driving him and his punk-ass friends around taken off my shoulders, but it plain and simple comes down to I don't want to share! Once he gets his hands on a license he will keep the car firm in his grasp at every waking moment. Do you think I will actually be able to get my grimy paws on the machine very often?? I highly doubt it. He seems to like to take any opportunity that he can to piss me off and I don't think the sharing of the family vehicle will be an exception.

I guess my good fortune is, he did not pass. Sure I feel crestfallen for the fella, but at the same time extremely relieved. Now I have at least two more weeks of freedom and then I can start butt clenching over the whole situation again (in our town you have to wait until the 2nd or 4th Wednesday of the month to take any driving test). Turns out the bum got 3 wrong on the written answer portion of the test (the other half was identifying signs).

I guess it really dumbfounded me since he is such a brainy individual. Well, he is in school, anyways (except for Geography which he seems to hate with a passion...strange since that is one of my favourite subjects, but that�s beside the point). Maybe the poor soul just does not have his wits about him, or common sense, anyways. Or maybe he was just extremely nervous and made lousy judgement calls. He�ll get it next time, though, and from then on will be one almighty power-struggle between the two of us. It shall be interesting, anyways. At least he can only drive with my step dad until he takes Driver�s Ed and passes his G2. *whew* I guess that buys me a little more time than I thought.

The whole situation makes me recollect the good and extremely bad experiences I have had with driving. haha. It started well when I passed my G1 with 100% accuracy, but was followed with sheer perturbation when I had my photo taken for my license�I looked like a flipping fish for goodness sake! I was about to ask the woman if the picture had been taken yet when I saw the flash. So I ended up looking like some trying-to-hard model in a first photo shoot. Then came Driver�s Ed which was actually a thrill. Well except for the written exam at the end of the thing. I think I managed to wind up with 91% in the silly course, though. After all this, my driving totally fell to shit. I think once I stepped out of my Driver�s Ed Teacher�s car that final time, that I was doomed. I failed my G2 road test twice and finally had to go to another town to take it where they seemed to �mercy pass� me (yeah, I told the girl before the test started that this was my third try and that I was in a town that I was unfamiliar with. At the end she said: �Well, third times a charm.� I honestly think she just passed me so she could say that).

Over a year later puts me in my current situation�one who cannot back up, parallel park, 3-point turn, and many other things. Yeah, I suck at driving, big time. I am surprised I have not been pulled over for speeding yet. I always tell my friends that when they eventually do seize me that I�ll say: �It�s about fucking time, man!� I always do seem to get from point A to point B in one piece, but there is always a fair share of scares along the way.

There was that one time when I was driving down the Queensway and my windshield washer fluid ran out. It was a day when the ground was wet and muddy and hundreds of little droplets, of God knows what, kept flying all over the place. Needless to say, I could see fart dick all. I practically had to stick my head out the window, Ace Ventura Style, to see where the heck I was going. It got so bad at one point that I pulled off on the Queensway (yes, sadly you heard me correctly) and washed the windshield off with dirty snow. It seemed to clear it somewhat, but the same damn thing would continue to happen throughout my journey into the Nation�s Capital. All I can say, is don�t try and merge onto the Queensway from the side of the road! I was basically doing 100 kilometres per hour in the ditch until I got up the balls and pulled in front of some dink that was not going to let me. I figured he would end up halting eventually, right? (Okay...so my logic is not always the best when I am driving, but I was friggin� desperate and late for an appointment.) I ended getting to Ottawa on time for my appointment, but extremely stressed out and bitchy. It was not a pleasant experience!

I have had many other experiences such as that in my short period of driving time. It is sad at the numbers of armpit laving incidents I have experienced in my day, but I must persist. I do need to drive and drive badly I must!

||

navigation

me
1984. female. sometimes happy. sometimes sad. sometimes mad. always tired. no clue what she is doing with her life. currently working to save money. hates herself.

older entries
+ Ciao on 2004-07-28
+ Do you want quantity or quality, man? on 2004-04-27
+ New Name...? You like? on 2004-04-27
+ Mental m�lange on 2004-04-25
+ I Need A Hug on 2004-04-25