speculating.diaryland.com
My little shower curtain heart
2003-02-11 :: 9:20 a.m.

Every time I jump into the shower to de-scuz my body, my eyes follow the intricate shapes on our clear shower curtain. Blobs, squares, ovals, and undistinguishable forms cover the surface of this non-concealing, barely protective sheet. The silly thing doesn�t even keep the moisture in the tub; it just keeps my eyes busy.

I remember earlier last year, around May, discovering a little heart amongst the various shapes and patterns in this shower curtain. It was my little heart of hope in the morning. If I could easily spot the heart, I knew I was in for a good day and that luck was by my side. Yet another small strand of hope that I kept by my side while starting recovery.

On the days when I couldn�t find the heart easily, I would panic. My eyes would search the curtain up and down relentlessly in hopes that my heart would come out of hiding and show its glowing glorious self to me. I would then tumble into self-loathing and usually have a painfully distressing, unpalatable day. Seems silly that the sight of such a little heart could determine my mood for the day...

And then there were days when I just was so far gone that I forgot about my little shower curtain heart. I didn�t look for it or think about it. Chances were that my mind was on the bigger picture of my mere mortal existence.

This morning I saw two hearts in my shower curtain.

||

navigation

me
1984. female. sometimes happy. sometimes sad. sometimes mad. always tired. no clue what she is doing with her life. currently working to save money. hates herself.

older entries
+ Ciao on 2004-07-28
+ Do you want quantity or quality, man? on 2004-04-27
+ New Name...? You like? on 2004-04-27
+ Mental m�lange on 2004-04-25
+ I Need A Hug on 2004-04-25