speculating.diaryland.com
Blackout 2003
2003-08-15 :: 1:53 p.m.

Blackout 2003:

Gah! I thought I would add a quick entry because they are warning us that the power is going to wind up going out here again before 4 PM. I guess it is because practically every place in my town is sucking the life out of what little power there is to go around. With my luck the power will go off before this entry is finished and I will lose everything; it would be typical luck for me.

I can't believe I am living through the worst power failure that North America has ever seen. First the Ice storm in '98 and now this. What a world, man. It's a gigantic mess, anyways and I can't say that I was surprised. I know that it was because of a fire that the power went out, but they have been warning us about overloads and the like for quite some time now. If the fire hadn't of happened, something else would have. It definitely was inevitable in this heat wave we have been having and just because of the mass consumption of electricity in this province (and all of North America for that matter).

I didn't know about the power outage yesterday until about 6 PM when it went out at about 4:15 PM. I got home from Chapters and passed out until about 6 PM (for the past few days I have been working the 5:30 AM shifts while going to bed really late, so I haven't exactly been getting a lot of sleep lately). I was supposed to have Martial Arts class last night, so I decided to head to the gym early to see what was happening. Needless to say we didn't end up having class and the gym closed at 7:30 PM instead of the normal 10:00 PM.

Of course the first thought that came to my mind was that this was an act of terrorism or that we were being invaded by aliens or something. I kept thinking about the movie Signs the whole time I was lying in my pitch black bedroom last night. It took a couple hours before I was able to fall asleep because I was so damn freaked out.

It's really quite scary to think about how much we really depend on electricity. I don't think people in this part of the world would last too too long without electricity. Sad, but true.

This morning my Mom woke me up at 5:30 AM to tell me that the power had just come back on. I was not supposed to go into work if there was no power and when and if power was restored I would go in. I ended up managing to get there at 5:45 AM, surprisingly and having the place up and running by 6 AM. I was actually surprised how many people ended up showing up to workout. I called one of my bosses (this one was in Montreal while the other two are currently in New Jersey because one of them is competing in a kickboxing fight tonight at Caesar's Palace) and she told me to keep the place open. In Ottawa it was declared a state of emergency and all businesses were supposed to stay closed if they could. When I called my town hall they told me that our town was stable and that we could keep power on as long as we used as little as possible (which meant keeping the air conditioning on since the business is a gym, but turning off the lights).

So, besides the scary warnings on the radio saying the province is in a state of emergency, the morning went by pretty normally. I mopped the aerobics room floor as soon as I got there and vacuumed the joint, then basically sat on my butt answering the phone for a couple hours. When Meagan came in for the shift afterwards we ordered a pizza (God I hate being so cruel to the people working out there by ordering a pizza, but it was damn good, damn good). We both have decided to party for the rest of the weekend and then we are going to get on healthy eating plans to get to our goal weights (we both want to lose "the chub"). After the much needed pizza (and a real can of Coke which I have not tasted in over 6 months) I travelled home to sit on my butt for a while longer. {God I love my rest days from exercise.}

I guess that pretty much brings me to the current time and place.

---

I think I am going to go pass out for an hour or so now because I have to go back to work at 5 PM. I may not be staying long if the power is out, but I would like to be able to keep my eyes open no matter how long I am there. I just hope the power is back on tomorrow morning because I am supposed to have Martial Arts class and I don't want to have to miss yet another one. Anyways, hopefully I will be back for another entry tomorrow, but if not, I'll sees ya when I sees ya. ;-)

||

navigation

me
1984. female. sometimes happy. sometimes sad. sometimes mad. always tired. no clue what she is doing with her life. currently working to save money. hates herself.

older entries
+ Ciao on 2004-07-28
+ Do you want quantity or quality, man? on 2004-04-27
+ New Name...? You like? on 2004-04-27
+ Mental m�lange on 2004-04-25
+ I Need A Hug on 2004-04-25