speculating.diaryland.com
Slightly overzealous in my endeavours
2003-05-03 :: 7:28 p.m.

I think why I am having such grave difficulty in getting very far with my novel writing is because I take on way too much at once. It is like when I do a research project and I keep looking for sources and never stop to actually read them; I just endlessly collect sources. Finally when it comes time for the paper to be written by the next day I move into a state of sheer panic because of the large volume of paper which I must sift through in a short time frame.

I am trying to write too many chapters all at once and it is not working. I started with the prelude and then I didn't finish it and moved on. I keep doing that and it is really getting me no where fast. Eeks! Plus there is also the fighting with placement, fonts, and quotes to add to the top of each chapter. I am stuck dwindling on the petty details and not being able to get on with the bigger picture, the novel itself.

I am also having those fears that the novel will just be a meshing of all the novels I have read and really loved. Am I stealing ideas from other people? Will the novel lack originality? Do people really give a fuck what I have to say? It's all too much for my mind. I definitely need to break this down or I am heading quickly down the road to sticking pixy sticks up my nose. *snort*

||

navigation

me
1984. female. sometimes happy. sometimes sad. sometimes mad. always tired. no clue what she is doing with her life. currently working to save money. hates herself.

older entries
+ Ciao on 2004-07-28
+ Do you want quantity or quality, man? on 2004-04-27
+ New Name...? You like? on 2004-04-27
+ Mental m�lange on 2004-04-25
+ I Need A Hug on 2004-04-25