speculating.diaryland.com
Fred is dead
2003-04-01 :: 4:51 p.m.

Head pounding and the light seeping through the blind slits burns my eyes. Feels like I've been beaten with a sack of bricks and left for dead.

"Sarah, it's 7:30; are you going to have a shower?"

"Huh?"

"Are you planning on having a shower?"

"Uh, yeah."

"Well, hurry up and have it, because other people will be needing the bathroom soon."

"Mmmhmm...*snort*"

I drag my tonne weighted legs off the mattress and attempt to stand up. The brain feels a little suffocated for a minute, but eventually things start to re-adjust and un-fuzzy themselves.

I hastily grab clothes off the floor and run for the bathroom. I know if I don't get there soon that my brother, Mark, will grab the opportunity and settle in his for his weekly 45 minute shower.

Inside the bathroom I lock the door and prepare to de-scuz myself. I turn on the faucet and step into the tub, almost losing my balance. I cling to the curtain for a moment and eventually get my bearings straight.

The piercing water funnels it's way upon my hair and seeps into every imaginable crevice on my body. Today this feels like something out of a nightmare, but I continue on with my business.

I search for Fred around in the tub, but to no avail he is not to be seen.

Once done I head to my room and ponder the tiresome day I am about to set into. I know I am already down a few points since I am lacking in the sleep department, but I gather my school stuff together anyways and attempt to make my appearance at least somewhat respectable.

Today is the surprise "Comfy Day" at school. Damn well suits my fancy as I throw on my black track suit. I could go for days like this any time. I like my jeans, but I also like my track suit. It makes me feel all warm and fuzzy. It's kinda like hot chocolate in the middle of a blizzard.

"Ah, what's that? Oh, a dead spider," comes from the room beside the bathroom. It is my mother attempting to rid her room of a dead spider.

It is at this moment that I realize the remote possibility that this my pal, Fred.

Fred. is. dead.

I freak out and scream, "Nooooo, not Fred!" Fred was my sign of spring--rebirth and renewal--and now he is gone. Well, it might not have been him, but a feeling in my gut told me so.

I would have had a burial for Fred in the backyard, but my Mom flushed him down the toilet, I believe.

I just can't believe that he is gone. He is really gone. That is so sad.

Oh, by the way, my Mom and step father, Mike, have been married for 14 years day. Strange... very strange, indeed.

||

navigation

me
1984. female. sometimes happy. sometimes sad. sometimes mad. always tired. no clue what she is doing with her life. currently working to save money. hates herself.

older entries
+ Ciao on 2004-07-28
+ Do you want quantity or quality, man? on 2004-04-27
+ New Name...? You like? on 2004-04-27
+ Mental m�lange on 2004-04-25
+ I Need A Hug on 2004-04-25