speculating.diaryland.com
"Chicago"
2003-02-21 :: 11:01 p.m.

I went this evening to see "Chicago" with a couple of my friends and I have to say I was pleasantly surprised. I am not a huge fan of musicals, but this one wasn't all that bad.

I quite liked the music and the acting wasn't absolutely dreadful or anything. Somewhat constiapated at times, but I guess that's to be expected from non-every day singers/dancers.

One thing I did notice while I was watching was how painfully thin some of the females in the movie were (Queen Latifah and Catherine Zeta-Jones looked wonderful). I am not one who likes to judge, but I found it distressing to see sacks of bones on the screen. It made me wonder what on earth they look like in real life since the camera adds 10 lbs.

It really bothered me that a lot of my focus was on this while watching the movie, but the thought of how thin the women were kept popping back into my mind throughout the film.

I wanted to cry because of how thin Renee looked. Her performance was great, but I kept thinking she would fall apart at any moment.

It's really sad if you ask me. Maybe they are just naturally that skinny... I don't know. It made me upset though. Probably stupid on my part... It's the furthest thing was jealous too. I actually felt pain for them.

I was glad that I wasn't the only one who noticed out of my friends and myself. I thought that perhaps it was just my fucked up body image distortion or something, but both of my friends noticed. Even the one who is quite thin herself and is recovered from anorexia.

I guess I just can't understand how that could be considered attractive. I would have used to think it was amazing and they looked great, but I guess my mindset has changed somewhat. I am realizing that maybe the media is wrong. I was that thin once and I felt nothing but pain. People didn't love me any more either so it really wasn't worth it, if you ask me.

Anyways, I will shut up about this now because I am sure I have ticked at least one person off. I did like the film and it was worth the $10 I paid. It was interesting and the music was catchy. Well worth seeing.

||

navigation

me
1984. female. sometimes happy. sometimes sad. sometimes mad. always tired. no clue what she is doing with her life. currently working to save money. hates herself.

older entries
+ Ciao on 2004-07-28
+ Do you want quantity or quality, man? on 2004-04-27
+ New Name...? You like? on 2004-04-27
+ Mental m�lange on 2004-04-25
+ I Need A Hug on 2004-04-25