speculating.diaryland.com
Brain cell dissipation
2003-02-04 :: 10:54 a.m.

Ah, beautiful capitalization. It's about time I bestowed it upon this diary. Rather than neglect the wonderful shift key.

All I can say is thank God that school has begun again. I have been watching much too much of the idiot box for my own good. I actually sit in front of that monstrosity for a couple hours at a time.

As I sit there, I think I can actually feel my brain cells dissipating into thin air. Escaping one by one into oblivion. Tis a damn shame too, as I have so few to spare as is. Ever since my discovery of the marvellous scent of paint, they have been diminishing rapidly.

I know that there is some fine quality programming on stations such as Discovery & Bravo but those do not happen to be the ones I tend to watch. I always wind up viewing shows that lack any substance and rarely grab my interest or give me a laugh. I just stare mindlessly at the boob tube, while drool dribbles profusely down my chin. It is quite sad, actually.

Since Seinfeld became deceased, I cannot seem to find any show that really does anything for me. Sure there are re-runs of the show but seeing given episodes more than ten times apiece becomes a little bit much.

On a rare occurrence, however, I do manage to occasionally come across an older episode which I have not seen. I cannot even describe the delight and vigour which build inside of me upon this unearthing. It is even more excitement than that of a three year old child discovering Mummy's white walls with a beautiful, shiny, purple crayon.

In an attempt to counteract the quick disappearance of brain cells to the telly, I have been reading whenever possible. At the gym, in the shower, during lunch, on the toilet, and of course at 3 AM when my mind refuses to rest.

I know this is not at all enough force to help me escape the evils which abscond from the shiny rays into my bleak, little peanut of a mind, but at least I am trying something. The hold that the television has on me is much too strong to be completely ignored but at least I can somewhat enrich my mind.

Hopefully soon I will be able to completely wean myself off of this dependency of brain cell destruction so that I can focus on the already growing mound of homework which lies in my wake.

P.S. Happy New Month! Me loves ze month of love.

||

navigation

me
1984. female. sometimes happy. sometimes sad. sometimes mad. always tired. no clue what she is doing with her life. currently working to save money. hates herself.

older entries
+ Ciao on 2004-07-28
+ Do you want quantity or quality, man? on 2004-04-27
+ New Name...? You like? on 2004-04-27
+ Mental m�lange on 2004-04-25
+ I Need A Hug on 2004-04-25